basic things req. to get started for ps2_slim programming?

Discuss the development of software, tools, libraries and anything else that helps make ps2dev happen.

Moderators: cheriff, Herben

Post Reply
ayub_zar
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 5:11 am
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

basic things req. to get started for ps2_slim programming?

Post by ayub_zar »

questions:::
1_ can i write software for ps2 slim scph 70004
2_ i dont know which mod chip is installed , mod chip matters in development?(it was built in by some shop).
3_i have c++ skills can i use them for development?
4_how to connect ps2 slim to pc??
5_ i have downloaded ps2dev but it doesnt starts.
WHAT I HAVE:
----------------
i have 5.25" hard disk enclousure , i want to use it with the ps2_slim, i have visual c++ 6.0 installed, and i want to make lot of stuff, but ps2dev doesnt start, help me guys to begin this, please .............
WE NEED TO TAME PS2
SSpeare
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 11:45 pm
Contact:

Post by SSpeare »

To get started read this:

http://ps2dev.org/ps2/Tutorials

You either need a USB cable as described or a network adaptor.

I don't have a modchip, I use the ps2 indendence exploit that only works on the old fat-PS2s. That exploit allows me to boot an executable from the memory card. The executable that I boot called uLaunchELF (google for it). Then I can launch PS2LINK.ELF which listens to TCP connections from my PC. Then I use ps2client on my PC to send my program to the PS2 to execute.

I don't know exactly how this works with a modchip. I think you should find a CD-ROM disc image that has PS2LINK on it or Naplink if you're using the USB cable. I guess the disc will be bootable because you have the mod chip.

Then if you're developing on the PC you have to install cygwin (which is really hard to get setup properly) or maybe the pre-built SDK (which includes cygwin). You can't compile your code using VC++. You can use it as a text editor, if you want.

Read this post for information about loading cygwin:
http://forums.ps2dev.org/viewtopic.php?t=4909

The precompiled toolchains are located here:
http://ps2dev.org/News/Latest_PS2_&_PSP ... _for_Win32
http://xorloser.com/

ps2dev doesn't "start" it simply provides you with the proper tools to compile code for the PS2. Once you have compiled the code into an executable (a .elf file) then you have to figure out how to get the .elf to the PS2 to run.

I would recommend downloading a demo or game that is precompiled and work until you can get that to run on the PS2. Once you can run a .elf, then you just have to learn how to compile one (which is harder).

I believe you can use C++, but I don't. I like C++ much better than C, but I don't totally trust it for the PS2.

You don't need a harddisk to develop for the PS2. It doesn't really help anything unless you want to put videos or something on it and load them from the harddisk to make it run faster.
ayub_zar
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 5:11 am
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

remember i have ps2 slim not the fat one

Post by ayub_zar »

so what i need to do , i neet a usb --> usb cable for NAPLINK?
download naplink, then put its image on cd rom
put the cd in ps2 slim , then link between pc and ps2 will be created is it okay?
if it is , how to make an image of naplink on cd, please help, i want to tame ps2
WE NEED TO TAME PS2
cheriff
Regular
Posts: 258
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 5:35 pm
Location: Sydney.au

Post by cheriff »

You dont need anything more. The slim PS2s already have a network port in the back, and will do everything you need for homebrew.
On the mainpage you can find the download of ps2link. Not sure about the latest version (1.46) but the one before that (1.42) has an ISO image available that should boot given a properly modchip.
Damn, I need a decent signature!
ayub_zar
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 5:11 am
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

still many problems

Post by ayub_zar »

i shoud now try to connect by using utp cable , with lan card of my computer and lan of the ps2 slim... okay? then i should download ps2link.......okay?, where will be the iso file that i will burn to a cd then put that cd in ps2 for boot?........i dont know which mod chip is running in my ps2 , is that okay?
please give reply people!! dont just watch....
WE NEED TO TAME PS2
cheriff
Regular
Posts: 258
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 5:35 pm
Location: Sydney.au

Post by cheriff »

Well, I did mention that the iso is on the mainpage so look at http://ps2dev.org, following the link to 'loaders' on the left, then down the bottom is ps2link. And on that page is a link to download the zip.
http://ps2dev.org/ps2/Loaders/PS2_side_ ... ne_files_)
(the link seems to break in the forums, the part of (_.iso_and_standalone_files_) IS part of the link.

hey cheriff how to start ps2link, its a set of exe files that dont run on pc, please tell me complete procedure, thank u in advance
(in a PM)

ps2link run on the ps2, no suprise it dont run on pc. Burn it onto a cd and put in the console. It should boot to a black screen with status info.

then find ps2client (hint: its also on the front page... should be easy to find) which does run on pc to connect at run apps.

And to preempt another question here, when you do find it. Double clicking the icon wont run it. Since you've need cygwin to dev in, you run ps2client from in the cygwin console.
Damn, I need a decent signature!
ayub_zar
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 5:11 am
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

i am now gonna try this out!

Post by ayub_zar »

i will try ur method , first to burn two files ps2link.bin and ps2link.cue , (by simple copy--paste method in windows), put that cd in ps2, then to run ps2client in windows, (but how double clicking its icon dont make it run), send me method for making ps2clint run , under windows xp.
thanks to cheriff
WE NEED TO TAME PS2
ayub_zar
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 5:11 am
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

hey i got it

Post by ayub_zar »

hey i just ,ran that ps2client in 'cmd' , it runs but let me try it to connect to ps2.. your methods seems workin
WE NEED TO TAME PS2
ayub_zar
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 5:11 am
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

hey one thing to check........

Post by ayub_zar »

I burned two files ps2link.bin & ps2link.cue on a CD (just by coping files and then pasting in the CDR, then clicked on 'write these files on CD', its not a 'BOOT Cd' ).

Then as you said ,i put that CD in PS2, when i turned onn ps2, it just started as "evverything looks like normal , the sound at the startup was normal , it at once (within a fraction of second) opened the menu in which i could just see a memory card(& my saved games, 'when entered into that'),(it was not normal)", i saw no new menu or blank screen or playstation 2 logo that comes at the start of every game.

Are those signs normal or i did something worng???.
anxously waiting for cheriff's reply.........
WE NEED TO TAME PS2
dlanor
Posts: 258
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2004 6:28 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: hey one thing to check........

Post by dlanor »

ayub_zar wrote:I burned two files ps2link.bin & ps2link.cue on a CD (just by coping files and then pasting in the CDR, then clicked on 'write these files on CD', its not a 'BOOT Cd' ).
The CUE+BIN files are not intended for storage as such files on a CD filesystem at all. Instead they contain an entire CD filesystem, which can include many files and folders, in a form ready for burning a whole CD-R disc, provided that you use the correct command to do it.

In the program "Nero burning ROM", you find that command in the "Recorder" section of the main menu. In it there is the command "Burn Image...", which allows you to select an image file. For your case that will be the CUE, which will then link automatically to the BIN. From that point on the rest of the procedure should be obvious...

This is the normal way of 'burning' PS2 homebrew discs, so you'd better get used to it.
Are those signs normal or i did something worng???.
anxously waiting for cheriff's reply.........
He may not have time to reply, so maybe you'll settle for mine ;)

Btw:
No offense intended, but you seem to think that you can start developing PS2 homebrew without first learning the basics of how to use such homebrew software, and I have to say that this is a very bad idea. You'll be wasting a lot of time, both your own and others', in stumbling over basic homebrew issues like the one above, while attempting to work with more advanced stuff.

You really should spend more time searching out and studying the tons of excellent tutorials available on basic use of PS2 homebrew software, before you raise your ambition to being a developer yourself. Like I said, there are huge amounts of such info available, and it makes more sense for you to study such info on your own, than to expect active developers to sacrifice their time on explaining such basics to you in person.

Best regards: dlanor
ayub_zar
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 5:11 am
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

hello i still need your help!

Post by ayub_zar »

i have now made a boot cd with ps2link.bin as a boot file and put another file ps2link on the cd then i put that cd in the console, screen goes black but doesnot shows any kind of information or status you mentioned earlier.
WE NEED TO TAME PS2
ayub_zar
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 5:11 am
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

okay

Post by ayub_zar »

now i am ready to burn my 3rd CD, disc will be set to following

cue file as a boot image
while bin on the disc as it is

okay , let me burn it !!! & try
Thanks for the reply
WE NEED TO TAME PS2
ayub_zar
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 5:11 am
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

problems .......

Post by ayub_zar »

still ps2 is not booting when i set CUE file as boot image while other bin file on the CD what to do now?
WE NEED TO TAME PS2
ayub_zar
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 5:11 am
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

old version works

Post by ayub_zar »

old version 1.26 is working fine on ps2, just with one error: 'failed to open extra conf file', why not the newer version working on ps2??
WE NEED TO TAME PS2
cheriff
Regular
Posts: 258
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 5:35 pm
Location: Sydney.au

Post by cheriff »

Thats not an error, just a warning. I dont need extra.conf and a dobut you will either just yet. Its just a method to automatically load extra modules if you want, and its optional.

So long as it says 'ready' after all the output, you're fine.
Damn, I need a decent signature!
ayub_zar
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 5:11 am
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

okay

Post by ayub_zar »

okay then why the newer version 1.46 of ps2link doesnt work with ps2?, and whats the next step in the world of ps2 programming?, i opened ps2client ,it got many commands but none of them were useable for me, please tell me or give me linkk that what one command is used for?? and how to configure the ps2dev???
WE NEED TO TAME PS2
cheriff
Regular
Posts: 258
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 5:35 pm
Location: Sydney.au

Post by cheriff »

dunno. I dont use the latest version, nor do i use cd-r. Is there any specific reason you need to upgrade?

Look elsewhere in the forums, for example http://forums.ps2dev.org/viewtopic.php?t=920 has pointers to a tutorial for setting things up. After you've done that you build your programs and run them. I guess it should be in the tuts.

All this information it readily available in the forums, on the website and in the source repository. People around here (myself included, believe it or not) aren't terribly receptive to folks who just post the same old questions and wand hand-holding, without putting much effort into searching and learning for themselves.
Damn, I need a decent signature!
ayub_zar
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 5:11 am
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

okay

Post by ayub_zar »

okay, i agree to ur words , i am really working hard , i didnt slept the whole night and i finally did made the ps2link work!.....
when i got rejected from every where , thats when i come to forums and ask questions. Most basic things on my side are done , just need to configure ps2dev and get my hands on programing.

I think we should be more receptive ( I am more receptive than i should be), .............okay tc
WE NEED TO TAME PS2
Post Reply