Page 1 of 1

ps2link works partially

Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 10:51 am
by peskanov
Hi! I am starting with ps2dev, but I am having trouble with the ps2link.
It boots and shows the correct ip and mask I configured.
When I use ps2client, only the command "reset" seems to work correctly
Any attemp to exec an elf end with a "I can't execute ****" on the ps2 side.

The command "dir" returns (on the pc side):
[ ERROR] Connect socket failed. (-1)
[ ERROR] Connect to request failed. (-3)
[ ERROR] Connect to ps2netfs failed. (-1)

I have also tried ps2exec. Also fails...

I have the feeling that the ps2 can't pass the packets to the pc for some reason...but the other way (pc->ps2) it works, as the command "reset" shows!
I have checked the firewall, it seems ok.
I have also looked on previous threads here, but I don't see my problem anywhere.

Does this error sound usual to anybody? Any hint?

Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 11:47 am
by Neil Stevens
You have to tell it to load the netfs. It doesn't load that by default. You have execiop some stuff:

rom0:SIO2MAN
rom0:MCMAN

and then from the ps2sdk load

ps2fs.irx
ps2netfs.irx

Correct me if I'm wrong, ye who know better, but this is what worked for me.

Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 12:21 pm
by ooPo
Are you forgetting to put 'host:' at the beginning of the file?

Example:

ps2client execee host:program.elf

Also, to use the 'advanced' features you have to load ps2netfs.irx.

Example:

ps2client execiop rom0:SIO2MAN
ps2client execiop rom0:MCMAN
ps2client execiop host:ps2netfs.irx


Use devlist to see which devices are available, then use dir to look at the files on that device.

Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 8:51 pm
by peskanov
Yes, silly me, I missed the example that explained the "host:" device name.
Using host: I can send the elfs now, time to hit the metal :)

But the rom loading does not seem to work.

ps2client -h xx.xx.xx.xx execiop rom0:SIO2MAN

Both sides, PC and PS2 hang without showing signs of life. No error messages or anything...

Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 8:58 pm
by pixel
They do not hang. They are just waiting. ps2client won't return unless you break it by CTRL-C, or add a timeout option.

Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 9:42 pm
by peskanov
Cool, everything works now.
Thanks to all!