AFL is GPL incompatible, yatta.

Discuss the development of software, tools, libraries and anything else that helps make ps2dev happen.

Moderators: cheriff, Herben

pixel

AFL is GPL incompatible, yatta.

Post by pixel »

--edit--

Hold on. I just catched that the license in ps2sdk is AFL2.0, not AFL1.1. I am still not a lawyer since 20 minutes, so, I'd go ask about AFL2.0 beeing GPL-compatible or not. And it seems it's still quite a huge discussion inside the FSF itself to determine of AFL is indeed incompatible or not.

--edit--
>> [pixel@nobis-crew.org - Thu Apr 21 08:37:28 2005]:
>>
>> Hello,
>>
>> I am currently a bit dazzeled by the whole page at
>> http://www.gnu.org/philosophy/license-list.html which states that, for
>> example, AFL is GPL-incompatible. What I am trying to understand is,
>> if I write a GPL software, I can't use any module in it (static
>> library or so) which is AFL ?

That's correct, whether the linking is static or dynamic, unless the
module is normally distributed with the major components of the
operating system on which your program runs. If you're the sole
copyright holder of the GPL software, you could grant an exception to
allow this -- please see the GPL FAQ for details.

-- -Dave "Novalis" Turner GPL Compliance Engineer Free Software Foundation
So, to sum up, softwares such as ps2link are illegal (they are even in violation of the GPL since it's linked dynamically with a GPL module (ps2eth), thus should be GPL itself anyway, now that I think about it)

Also, a software such as madplay can't be as well, since it's GPL code using AFL components. And any software made of any GPL libraries from the ps2sdk-ports directory are not good either (well, that's only freetype, ucl, and madplay; all the rest is okay).