PS2 and its PSX ROM.

Discuss the development of software, tools, libraries and anything else that helps make ps2dev happen.

Moderators: cheriff, Herben

Sho7

PS2 and its PSX ROM.

Post by Sho7 »

As far as I know, the PS2 uses a ROM to play PS1 games. And I have a couple of quick questions.

1. Is the statement above true?
2. Would it be possible to emulate that ROM, or tell the PS2 to "force-start" it.
3. How hard would it be.

Thanks, on a side note, I am new to the PS2Dev scene, so

"Hello World!"
Last edited by Sho7 on Fri Jun 10, 2005 7:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
Drakonite
Site Admin

Post by Drakonite »

The PSX is just a PS2 with PVR hardware added. It doesn't have it's own special games.
Shoot Pixels Not People!
Makeshift Development
Sho7

Post by Sho7 »

Right, so that PVR has to be started in order for a PSX game to boot right? So is there anyway I could make an elf that would start it?

Post by Guest »

Why not explain your goal here. Otherwise, we will have fun with your terminology.

BTW, "PSX" officially refers to a rather expensive PVR from Sony that also is a functioning PS2 system. It is not the same thing as the original PlayStation, to which you should refer as "PS1".
wulf

Post by wulf »

I beleive that he is talking about ps 1 games... psx is a slang used to describe the ps 1 before ps2 and PSX came out.
Drakonite
Site Admin

Post by Drakonite »

wulf wrote:I beleive that he is talking about ps 1 games... psx is a slang used to describe the ps 1 before ps2 and PSX came out.
Yes, I know. It's very incorrect slang though, and since there is talk of the real PSX here on occasion I think for our own sanity it's best to strongly discourage the use of such slang...

Since my point has been made...

1. It's not a "ROM." The PS2 hardware has a 'compatibility' mode where it acts virtually identical (or at least as far as it matters) to the PS1 which it uses to emulate the PS1.