Help: Compiling SIOShell from the SVN

Discuss the development of software, tools, libraries and anything else that helps make ps2dev happen.

Moderators: cheriff, Herben

Post Reply
Derek8588
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 2:14 pm

Help: Compiling SIOShell from the SVN

Post by Derek8588 »

I have had some trouble compiling this thing. First, the compiler was giving me an error saying cc1 was no such file or directory. I fixed that. Now I get a large list of exception errors saying "illegal operands" concerning MIPS instruction commands. Those are found within the exception.s file. I have the latest toolchain installer from ps2dev. I have even successfully compiles all of the ps2sdk samples. Can someone please help? thanks

EDIT: Heres a screenshot of the errors:

Image[/img]
JorDy
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2005 8:45 am

Post by JorDy »

when i try to compile anything with asm it always needs the registers to be prefixed by a '$' sign that should get rid of most of the errors
misfire
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 7:53 am
Location: Germany

Post by misfire »

You have to include the "r5900_regs.h" file.
TyRaNiD
Posts: 907
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2004 12:23 am

Post by TyRaNiD »

The problem is more likely the name is has been lower cased on windows, rename it to exception.S (note the capital S) and it will probably build fine.
Derek8588
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 2:14 pm

Close, but not quite there.

Post by Derek8588 »

Thanks for the tip. I didnt realize such a minor thing as the case of a letter could cause so much havoc. However, I am still running into errors. I even renamed all the .s files to capital .S. I also recopied and pasted the code from the svn. Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thx.

Image
JorDy
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2005 8:45 am

Post by JorDy »

your not including a library i dont think that's why you're getting "undefined reference" errors or maybe the files that contain that function have been left out
Derek8588
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 2:14 pm

Post by Derek8588 »

I think I may have found the problem. I have been entering all the source into notepad and saving them as the filename specified. This creates spacing errors and improperly formatted text. What text editor should I be entering this information into? Maybe I should enter it into Dev C++ and save it with that... Thx for any help.

EDIT: Finally figured it out. The Makefile.eeglobal in the SVN kept giving me the error "Multiple Target Patters." So i took an eeglobal makefile from another project that successfully compiled and then tried to compile figuring they were the same. Then I realized they werent and modified it with the sioshell's svn code, and it compiled successfully. Thank god.

EDIT2: Now I get exception handler errors on ps2 after I packed it and sent it over ps2link. :( Im ready to give up

EE Exception Handler: Address Store Exception
Cause 60008014 BadVAddr 80050000 Status 70030c13

Any help?
Derek8588
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 2:14 pm

So close but yet so far

Post by Derek8588 »

Well. I finally obtained the stub file that the compiler required. The
n2e-kmode-1d00-stub. Now when I execute the ELF on my ps2 through ps2link or Launchelf, the app prints this to my console PC.

SIO:Framing Error
SIO:Framing Error
SIO:Framing Error
SIO:Framing Error
SIO:Framing Error
SIO:Framing Error
SIO:Framing Error
SIO:Framing Error
......keeps going forever and ps2 locks up.

If I press Enter or send it text, it will pause for a moment, and continue to send that message. Does anyone happen to have a precompiled version? Because I dont think I will ever get this working.
Derek8588
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 2:14 pm

Re: So close but yet so far

Post by Derek8588 »

Well, I found out that the problem was that the metal HDD housing inside the ps2 had spliced the rxd wire, creating a short. Now I fixed it and the program works great. I jus dunno how to execute elfs. it says...

help exec

exec elfname [arg1 arg2 ....]

Im assuming that the arguments are the start address and something else? Does anyone know the correct format for it? thanks.
User avatar
jbit
Site Admin
Posts: 293
Joined: Sat May 28, 2005 3:11 am
Location: København, Danmark
Contact:

Re: So close but yet so far

Post by jbit »

Derek8588 wrote:exec elfname [arg1 arg2 ....]

I'm assuming that the arguments are the start address and something else? Does anyone know the correct format for it? thanks.
The arguments are just things passed to the program (ie: via argc/argv), they're not required unless the program you're loading needs them. The ELF loader uses the address' in the ELF header...
Derek8588
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 2:14 pm

Post by Derek8588 »

My last issue is recieving data blocks using ymodem and the recv command. I type

recv 0x100000 8

The program slowly prints constant C's to the terminal app.

CCCCCCCCCCCCCCCC....

Im not sure if I am supposed to use the receive command built into hyperterminal or what. I get a "No Packet" message when I try to recieve a memory block using hyperterminal. Does anyone know how to do this? Thanks
Post Reply