How To Set-Up an IDE (eclipse) for PS2 Development

Discuss the development of software, tools, libraries and anything else that helps make ps2dev happen.

Moderators: cheriff, Herben

crashnburn987

How To Set-Up an IDE (eclipse) for PS2 Development

Post by crashnburn987 »

Hi All,
Hopefully someone will find this information usefull. As the story goes, I've been running alot of homebrew code on my PS2 for some time now. I always said to myself, man... it would be cool if it could do this too.... then I remembered I was a software engineer. Oh yeah! anyways, if your not as old school as most of the seasoned programmers on here, and would love to get involved in the Dev scene but are afraid of the comand line, then read on!

Below is instructions on how to set up the Eclipse IDE for development on a Win32 platform.

1.) Download Eclipse IDE. it can be found here : http://www.eclipse.org/downloads/index.php
this is an open source IDE, very nice.
2.) Install eclipse, hope u can figure that out :)
3.) update eclipse so it can handle C/ C++.
3a.)Startup Eclipse and go to the Help ->Software Updates -> find and install.
3b.)u want "search for new features"
3c.)click on new remote site, and use this URL :http://update.eclipse.org/tools/cdt/releases/new
3d.)after the progress bar completes, get the C and C++ parts, your going to want CDT 2.0.2
3e.)after installation, restart eclipse.
4.)Download PS2Dev environment for WIN32 found here: http://ps2dev.org/kb.x?T=1081
5.)Run the installer, if you already have CYGWIN on you comp, view the readme, cus your going to get conflicts. (also check that it sets your PATH correctly, mine gets messed up sometimes).
6.)Fire up eclipse again, right click in the left window, and select new -> project. You want the "C" option, and Standard Make C Project. give it a name.
7.)Right click on the new project u just made, and go down to properties.