PROBLEM!

Discuss the development of new homebrew software, tools and libraries.

Moderators: cheriff, TyRaNiD

Post Reply
Mike/Pippin
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 4:23 am

PROBLEM!

Post by Mike/Pippin »

Ok you locked my other topic and it had nothing to do with my topic. Mine was the error in Win32 I cant do what they did in theres. So I still dont know what to do.
cheriff
Regular
Posts: 258
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 5:35 pm
Location: Sydney.au

Post by cheriff »

EDIT: never mind.. ooPo put it more eloquently than I ever could.
Last edited by cheriff on Sun Jul 17, 2005 12:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Damn, I need a decent signature!
ooPo
Site Admin
Posts: 2023
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2004 9:56 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by ooPo »

Your problem from the original thread:
When I try to compile the remote source. I get all these errors.

Image
So I take a quick search to a thread I know had the same problem:
When I try to compile /samples/controller/basic/main.c This is the o/p I get...

$ make

psp-gcc -I. -I/usr/local/pspdev/psp/sdk/include -02 -G0 -Wall -c -o main.o main.c
main.c: In function 'main':
main.c:69: error: 'SceCtrlData' undeclared (first use in this function)
main.c:69: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
main.c:69: error: for each fucntion it appeas in.)
main.c:69: error: parse error before 'pad'
main.c:75: error: 'PSP_CTRL_MODE_ANALOG' undeclared (first use in this funciton)

main.c:80: error: 'pad' undeclared (first use in this function)
main.c:86: error: 'PSP_CTRL_SQUARE' undeclared (first use in this function)
...
...
...
same err as line 86 for all the other first time uses of the corresponding PSP_CTRL_FUNC
...
...
...
make: *** [main.o] Error 1
The response given to try was:
ah. the answer was to do the following:


svn co svn://svn.pspdev.org/psp/trunk/pspsdk

then in pspsdk dir,

./bootstrap
./configure
make
make install

updated the pspctrl header file.
To which the original poster replied:
got it to work! thank you!!!!
Which means your problem has been solved. I then locked it so that any further conversation about that particular problem would take place in the already ongoing thread.

Now, if you have a NEW problem as a result of that being solved, mainly it seems you do not have cygwin or the toolchain script installed so you can't update, then I suggest you FURTHER SEARCH to find the answer.

Here's a quick hint to save us all from more threads with horribly unhelpful titles:

http://wiki.pspdev.org/psp:programming_faq

That link will tell you how to install a 'proper' and up-to-date environment for pspdev. Yes, even for windows...
Mike/Pippin
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 4:23 am

Post by Mike/Pippin »

Well I dont know how to do that considering it says cygwin which I dont have and dont want.
ooPo
Site Admin
Posts: 2023
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2004 9:56 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by ooPo »

Then you are left with the following options:

1) Install a unix of some sort and do your development there.

2) Wait for someone to compile an updated binary release of pspsdk.

3) Sit on your thumb and rotate.

The hard fact of the matter is that you're trying to ride the bleeding edge of pspdev but do not want to get your hands dirty. The pspsdk changes hourly as new updates and changes are made. It is far too early to be expecting a stable and completely usable package handed to you on a silver platter.

So, either get with the program or don't. The problem is currently you. We can't fix that.
Mike/Pippin
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 4:23 am

Post by Mike/Pippin »

I have Slackware I have a thread about that. I am with the program. I dont know how to get it working on slackware and I dont see a thread about HOW TO install on slackware 10.1.
User avatar
Agoln
Posts: 326
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 3:14 am
Location: Fort Wayne, IN

Post by Agoln »

Mike/Pippin wrote:I have Slackware I have a thread about that. I am with the program. I dont know how to get it working on slackware and I dont see a thread about HOW TO install on slackware 10.1.
If you have slackware, then what is your problem? If you do not know what cygwin is, it is a *nix .... for lack of better terms, emulator. It allows you to do a lot of things the *nix way in windows.

If you have slackware, then you have linux, so you should be able to use the instructions on http://wiki.pspdev.org/psp:programming_faq w/o any problems.
Lego of my Ago!
Mike/Pippin
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 4:23 am

Post by Mike/Pippin »

I get this SVN Error when I try to install toolchain.
User avatar
Agoln
Posts: 326
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 3:14 am
Location: Fort Wayne, IN

Post by Agoln »

Mike/Pippin wrote:I get this SVN Error when I try to install toolchain.
Errrrr... care to be a bit more precise?
Lego of my Ago!
Mike/Pippin
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 4:23 am

Post by Mike/Pippin »

Yeah I get a SVN error about please make sure you have etc... installed. Last time I tried this I took taht part out and installed and afetr that when I type make. I get

Makefile:16: /lib/build.mak: No such file or directory
make: *** No rule to make target `/lib/build.mak'. Stop.
User avatar
Agoln
Posts: 326
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 3:14 am
Location: Fort Wayne, IN

Post by Agoln »

download subversion. subversion=svn. Subversion is a CVS type of program, which is necessary to install the SDK.

For the /lib/build.mak, you don't have the path to the SDK in your PATH.
Lego of my Ago!
Mike/Pippin
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 4:23 am

Post by Mike/Pippin »

Ok well Im confused maybe I can start all over. Should I uninstall what I already did. And Get SVN(where can I get that for slackware) And I dont know where my Path is for that in Slackware.
User avatar
Agoln
Posts: 326
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 3:14 am
Location: Fort Wayne, IN

Post by Agoln »

http://wiki.pspdev.org/psp:programming_faq

^^Read that, all of it.

You dont *need* SVN, if you get the tools from ooPo's site, but just read that and don't complain about how it talks about cygwin, if you read 10 words to the right, it says that linux can be used, as cygwin is a linux command-line emulator.
Lego of my Ago!
Mike/Pippin
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 4:23 am

Post by Mike/Pippin »

Well then what do I do since I already did all that. I just took out the SVN checking part. I still get the /lib/build.mak problem. I dont know where it installed to so ???...
User avatar
Agoln
Posts: 326
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 3:14 am
Location: Fort Wayne, IN

Post by Agoln »

PSP WIki wrote:When it is done, you will have to add the following lines to your startup configuration:

## PSPDEV PATH SETTINGS
export PSPDEV="/usr/local/pspdev"
export PSPSDK="$PSPDEV/psp/sdk"
export PATH="$PATH:$PSPDEV/bin:$PSPSDK/bin"
Is that in your startup file? (i.e. ~/.bash_profile or ~/.bashrc)

*edit*
I retract my statement, you do need subversion installed. ooPo needs to update the wiki saying that subverison is required.

Google around for subversion source that you can compile for slackware.
Lego of my Ago!
Mike/Pippin
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 4:23 am

Post by Mike/Pippin »

I think I have bash but I searched my whoel linux partion and nether of them showed up.
User avatar
Agoln
Posts: 326
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 3:14 am
Location: Fort Wayne, IN

Post by Agoln »

Code: Select all

echo $SHELL
says what shell you have. You still need subversion, then re-do everything on the wiki page.
Lego of my Ago!
ooPo
Site Admin
Posts: 2023
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2004 9:56 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by ooPo »

Strange, when you edit out the part that gives the error instead of fixing the error... it doesn't work.

Amazing.
TheDevilsJester
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 8:10 am

Post by TheDevilsJester »

Mike/Pippin, if locating and installing linux applications is not something you enjoy, I suggest installing Gentoo linux. A simple emerge subversion will automatically download, compile, and install subversion and everything it requires (same goes for any other app you desire, no more scouring the internet trying to find the latest tarball/rpm/deb/etc...). Now it doesnt look like you are too experianced with linux so I wouldnt attempt to install the 'real' Gentoo from scratch, instead you should look into vlos http://desktop.vidalinux.com/ which is a version of Gentoo which uses the anaconda (yeah yeah I know) installer to help automate the installation proccess.

When I tried the toolchain installer script it yelled at me about not having subversion too, I just opened up a terminal and typed emerge subversion and then reran the script. Simple :)

Just a friendly suggestion...
ooPo
Site Admin
Posts: 2023
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2004 9:56 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by ooPo »

Yeah, most linux distributions have that ability now. In Slackware, a tool called 'slapt-get' can add functionality similar to Debian's apt-get/apt-cache.

Gentoo can be a little hard for the first timer. I'd suggest something easier and more automatic, like Ubuntu or even Fedora.
TheDevilsJester
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 8:10 am

Post by TheDevilsJester »

Yeah many of the main distributions are going to a repository system like apt. Although these tend to use binary packages rather than source code.

For first time Gentoo'ers, I would suggest vlos, it is precompiled and installs via anaconda (just like fedora core) so there is no complicated setup, just a couple options to select and watch it go... (I use it on my parents PC because its a 333mhz and takes 5 days to install Gentoo from scratch on it...)

Although in my personal opinion I think every linux user should install Gentoo from scratch (the real way!) just for the experiance alone, it really helps you get a grasp on whats happening under the hood...even if you dont choose to use it as your distro of choice.

....Sorry for straying partially off topic...I have a tendency to do that

Anyway Mike if you are still looking for subversion I believe the download page is http://subversion.tigris.org/servlets/N ... temID=1202
Mike/Pippin
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 4:23 am

Post by Mike/Pippin »

Yeah I found that last night with my friend. Hes really experieneced in linux so I alwasy ask him for help woth slackware. Well Im going to try and do the toolchain again hopefully this time it works.
Mike/Pippin
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 4:23 am

Post by Mike/Pippin »

Ok I am going to stick with Slackware. Well I have SVN installed psptoolchain was installed with no errors. My .bash_profile is right.When I try to make teh PSP REMOTE I get this error.

Code: Select all

make: psp-config: Command not found
Makefile:17: /lib/build.mak: No such file or directory
make: *** No rule to make target `/lib/build.mak'.  Stop.
My .bash_profile looks like this:

Code: Select all

export PSPDEV="/usr/local/pspdev"
export PSPSDK="$PSPDEV/psp/sdk"
export PATH="$PATH:$PSPDEV/bin:$PSPSDK/bin"
The Makefile looks like this:

Code: Select all

TARGET = sircs
OBJS = main.o

INCDIR = 
CFLAGS = -O2 -G0 -Wall
CXXFLAGS = $(CFLAGS) -fno-exceptions -fno-rtti
ASFLAGS = $(CFLAGS)

LIBDIR =
LIBS = -lpspsircs
LDFLAGS =

EXTRA_TARGETS = EBOOT.PBP
PSP_EBOOT_TITLE = Sircs Test v1.0

PSPSDK := $(shell psp-config --pspsdk-path)
include $(PSPSDK)/lib/build.mak
ooPo
Site Admin
Posts: 2023
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2004 9:56 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by ooPo »

This is the most important part:

Code: Select all

make: psp-config: Command not found 
I'll assume you've installed pspsdk properly when you ran the toolchain script. It basically means you didn't set up your path correctly.

Try typing 'export' at the command line. It will spit out your current environment variables. You should see things like PSPDEV and PSPSDK are set, along with the PATH. If not, you may not be running bash, or using .bash_profile is wrong for your setup. On my slackware system, I just put it at the end of the /etc/profile file, or in the .profile file in my home directory.

Perhaps your linux friend can help you further. From the sounds of it, you're very close to being ready.
Mike/Pippin
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 4:23 am

Post by Mike/Pippin »

Well my .bash_profile wasnt there so I had to make it.

Heres what it said when I typed export and hit enter.

Code: Select all

declare -x COLORTERM=""
declare -x CPLUS_INCLUDE_PATH="/usr/lib/qt/include:/usr/lib/qt/include"
declare -x DISPLAY=":0.0"
declare -x GDK_USE_XFT="1"
declare -x GS_LIB="/home/mike/.fonts"
declare -x GTK2_RC_FILES="/etc/gtk-2.0/gtkrc:/home/mike/.gtkrc-2.0:/home/mike/.k
de/share/config/gtkrc"
declare -x GTK_RC_FILES="/etc/gtk/gtkrc:/home/mike/.gtkrc:/home/mike/.kde/share/
config/gtkrc"
declare -x HOME="/home/mike"
declare -x HOSTNAME="cableone.net.cableone.net"
declare -x HUSHLOGIN="FALSE"
declare -x HZ="100"
declare -x INPUTRC="/etc/inputrc"
declare -x JAVA_HOME="/usr/lib/java"
declare -x KDEDIR="/opt/kde"
declare -x KDE_FULL_SESSION="true"
declare -x KDE_MULTIHEAD="false"
declare -x KONSOLE_DCOP="DCOPRef(konsole-26044,konsole)"
declare -x KONSOLE_DCOP_SESSION="DCOPRef(konsole-26044,session-1)"
declare -x LANG="en_US"
declare -x LC_COLLATE="C"
declare -x LESS="-M"
declare -x LESSOPEN="|lesspipe.sh %s"
declare -x LOGNAME="mike"
declare -x LS_COLORS="no=00:fi=00:di=01;34:ln=01;36:pi=40;33:so=01;35:bd=40;33;0
1:cd=40;33;01:or=40;31;01:ex=01;32:*.bat=01;32:*.BAT=01;32:*.btm=01;32:*.BTM=01;
32:*.cmd=01;32:*.CMD=01;32:*.com=01;32:*.COM=01;32:*.dll=01;32:*.DLL=01;32:*.exe
=01;32:*.EXE=01;32:*.arj=01;31:*.bz2=01;31:*.deb=01;31:*.gz=01;31:*.lzh=01;31:*.
rpm=01;31:*.tar=01;31:*.taz=01;31:*.tb2=01;31:*.tbz2=01;31:*.tbz=01;31:*.tgz=01;
31:*.tz2=01;31:*.z=01;31:*.Z=01;31:*.zip=01;31:*.ZIP=01;31:*.zoo=01;31:*.asf=01;
35:*.ASF=01;35:*.avi=01;35:*.AVI=01;35:*.bmp=01;35:*.BMP=01;35:*.flac=01;35:*.FL
AC=01;35:*.gif=01;35:*.GIF=01;35:*.jpg=01;35:*.JPG=01;35:*.jpeg=01;35:*.JPEG=01;
35:*.m2a=01;35:*.M2a=01;35:*.m2v=01;35:*.M2V=01;35:*.mov=01;35:*.MOV=01;35:*.mp3
=01;35:*.MP3=01;35:*.mpeg=01;35:*.MPEG=01;35:*.mpg=01;35:*.MPG=01;35:*.ogg=01;35
:*.OGG=01;35:*.ppm=01;35:*.rm=01;35:*.RM=01;35:*.tga=01;35:*.TGA=01;35:*.tif=01;
35:*.TIF=01;35:*.wav=01;35:*.WAV=01;35:*.wmv=01;35:*.WMV=01;35:*.xbm=01;35:*.xpm
=01;35:"
declare -x LS_OPTIONS=" --color=auto -F -b -T 0"
declare -x MAIL="/var/spool/mail/mike"
declare -x MANPATH="/usr/local/man:/usr/man:/usr/X11R6/man:/usr/lib/java/man:/us
r/lib/qt/doc/man:/usr/share/texmf/man"
declare -x MINICOM="-c on"
declare -x OLDPWD
declare -x PATH="/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/usr/games:/opt/www/htdig/bin:/usr/lib/java/bin:/usr/lib/java/jre/bin:/opt/kde/bin:/usr/lib/qt/bin:/usr/share/texmf/bin:.:/usr/local/pspdev/bin:/usr/local/pspdev/psp/sdk/bin"
declare -x PS1="\\u@\\h:\\w\\\$ "
declare -x PS2="> "
declare -x PSPDEV="/usr/local/pspdev"
declare -x PSPSDK="/usr/local/pspdev/psp/sdk"
declare -x PWD="/home/mike"
declare -x QTDIR="/usr/lib/qt"
declare -x SESSION_MANAGER="local/cableone:/tmp/.ICE-unix/4508"
declare -x SHELL="/bin/bash"
declare -x SHLVL="5"
declare -x T1LIB_CONFIG="/usr/share/t1lib/t1lib.config"
declare -x TERM="xterm"
declare -x USER="mike"
declare -x WINDOWID="33554437"
declare -x WINDOW_MANAGER="metacity"
declare -x XAUTHORITY="/home/mike/.Xauthority"
declare -x XCURSOR_SIZE=""
declare -x XCURSOR_THEME="default"
TheDevilsJester
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 8:10 am

Post by TheDevilsJester »

First remember if you change exports in your files you may need to restart certain applications for these to take effect.

What I do is not set those exports in any specific pre loaded file, instead make a .sh script that I can run via the same terminal I compile in, that sets them per session. This is much easier for me, as I dont use make (I hate it with a passion) and simply call the compiler directly through a .sh script. So adding a couple enviroment variables to the begining of the script is very easy, and portable.

From the looks of your export output, the export PATH="$PATH:$PSPDEV/bin:$PSPSDK/bin" value was exported (in the PATH variable)

Take a look in /usr/local/pspdev/bin/ and see if you have all of the toolchain binaries.

Code: Select all

bash-2.05b$ cd /usr/local/pspdev/bin/
bash-2.05b$ ls
bin2c     psp-addr2line  psp-config     psp-gccbug   psp-objdump  psp-strip
bin2o     psp-ar         psp-cpp        psp-gcov     psp-ranlib   unpack-pbp
bin2s     psp-as         psp-g++        psp-ld       psp-readelf
mksfo     psp-c++        psp-gcc        psp-nm       psp-size
pack-pbp  psp-c++filt    psp-gcc-4.0.0  psp-objcopy  psp-strings
If not, run the toolchain script again and pay attention (or log it) to see if there were any failures or problems along the way. Just running it and walking away until its done doesnt always cut it, there could be errors or issues part way through, stuff you cant always see from the tail end of the output.
Mike/Pippin
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 4:23 am

Post by Mike/Pippin »

No I have all those. I dont know why I get this error.
Mike/Pippin
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 4:23 am

Post by Mike/Pippin »

Ok i got it to work.Sorry for double post. Thanks I just had to restart. Thanks to everyone to helped me I owe you guys much.
ooPo
Site Admin
Posts: 2023
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2004 9:56 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by ooPo »

Care to share the solution in case someone else has the same problem in the future?
Mike/Pippin
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 4:23 am

Post by Mike/Pippin »

To get it to work. You need Subversion and The Apache thing.

Download The Apache thing first and install with installpkg:

Download from:
http://www2.linuxpackages.net/packages/ ... 6-1jac.tgz



Then Download Subversion from here:
http://www.software-mirror.com/linuxpac ... 6-1jac.tgz

Install with Installpkg again.

Then Install Toolchain add that to your Bash_profile if you dotn have one make one.

Then restart and it will work.
Post Reply