Is it possible?

Discuss the development of new homebrew software, tools and libraries.

Moderators: cheriff, TyRaNiD

Post Reply
nDEV
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 1:26 am

Is it possible?

Post by nDEV »

Is it possible to execute an eboot from my application?
And if yes , how can i make my application to still work on the background?
User avatar
dot_blank
Posts: 498
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 8:47 am
Location: Brasil

Post by dot_blank »

if the main application that is launching the eboot is in usermode
then its entry address will be 0x89.. when you launch your eboot
you must change its entry address ahead of your main apps memory
space that it is occupying, set which address and other fields using the
member variables of the LoadModuleOption before loading the eboot

and tip: do not forget how large your main apps heap size is as your
other eboot can fall into this area and screw things up ...so remember
to setup a small as possible heap size for your main app using the macro
PSP_HEAP_SIZE_KB(xxxx)

if you are brave enough then do as i do and make your main app in kmode
memory space and then load your other eboot in usermode space
alot of good things can be done with just threads and it is wise to remember
http://svn.ps2dev.org/filedetails.php?r ... rev=0&sc=0[/url]
10011011 00101010 11010111 10001001 10111010
nDEV
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 1:26 am

Post by nDEV »

wah..
Thanks for the information , but , i dont think im ready for this yet :X
Post Reply