pspsdk vs official sdk

Discuss the development of new homebrew software, tools and libraries.

Moderators: cheriff, TyRaNiD

bootdisk

pspsdk vs official sdk

Post by bootdisk »

Hi,

I think this is my first post to this forum, so Hi guys!.
I've been working on demos or small games for my psp for the last 9 months but I started asking myself (without a clearly answer):

How closely to the official sdk is the pspsdk?

Imagine that you write a really cool (and addictive) game right? and someone who has been licensed want to employ you to make it commercial (or even put you in another project related to the psp), will you be qualified to that job?

I'm asking these things because I don't have an idea and maybe someone could point me to the right direction.

Many thanks in advance.

[I've edited the whole post, It's too late and I'm really tired. Sorry about the mistakes]
---------------------------------------------------------
if you wanna survive you better learn how to lie
Rex_VF5

Post by Rex_VF5 »

Unless the original SDK used different language than C/C++ I guess there would not be much difference. You have a platform that provides some amount of calls you can use. There may be some additional features in original SDK that would allow you to to do debugging/profiling/etc. stuff different way, there even may be some useful libraries available but apart from that it would be quite similar.

A comparison to that may be: C/C++ development SDK/environment for Windows. There are many of them: Microsoft one, Borland, Watcom, GCC, ... How much do they differ? They all end up calling Windows system, they all implement C/C++ toolchains. The difference is the tools associated with them, maybe few language features they implement and some additional libraries packed with them...
Torch

Post by Torch »