Emulator - Evolving PSP homebrew

Discuss the development of new homebrew software, tools and libraries.

Moderators: cheriff, TyRaNiD

biermana

Emulator - Evolving PSP homebrew

Post by biermana »

As someone who writes software for a living, I would submit that PSP homebrew development will struggle to evolve much past "hacking around" until a real PC-based emulator exists that allows for step debugging.

Writing PSP code on the PC and "seeing if it works" on a physical PSP without the ability to step into code is not a viable long-term scenario. We'll never "catch up" to the community of "official, Sony SDK and Codewarrior" developers until something more evolved than pspe exists.

What do you think? What can we do?

Unfortunately, I've no experience whatsoever creating an emulator. I see that a linux-based MIPS emul called gxemule exists. Would gxemule serve as a good starting point?
ooPo
Site Admin

Post by ooPo »

As someone who also writes software for a living, I counter-submit that you should ponder for a moment as to how development has been done for decades now on consoles.

Here's a hint: They rarely, if ever, use emulators/simulators.

Its usually done by running the software on the actual hardware itself, either a devkit with hardware specifically made for debugging/etc, or just a special version of firmware with a network connection to a host pc.

So what should we do? Write a piece of software that sits on the psp and lets us upload/execute programs and receive debugging information from a remote host, say a pc connected via wifi or usb.
biermana

Post by biermana »

Thanks ooPo - good point. Obviously, the sofware I write for a living is not of the game console variety, or I wouldn't have asked such a silly question.

Why is the devkit method preferable? Because of the time required to create the emulator?

So you feel we need a remote debugging scenario?