2.00 photo exploit code?

Discuss the development of new homebrew software, tools and libraries.

Moderators: cheriff, TyRaNiD

chameleon_789

2.00 photo exploit code?

Post by chameleon_789 »

Hi.. I'm interested in learning how to write code for the photo exploit on the 2.0 firmware (not an eboot ran through fanjita's loader).. but, I'm not an experienced coder - I'm only just getting the hang of C++ and the pspsdk, and I don't know assembly or have any detailed knowledge of the hardware or exploit, so I have some questions I'd like to ask.. any help would be much appreciated!

1) (edit : nevermind, irrelevant)
2) Is it possible to write a piece of code that's contained entirely in the photo folder (without using any files on the root of the mem stick) that would be able to read/write to the memory stick (ie create a dir, copy a file)?
3) (edit : nevermind...)
4) How hard would it be to translate a c++ function to code that would run through this exploit?
5) Is there anything which explains the exploit or how to write code for it in a little more detail than the readme file with the hello world code?
6) When loading a .bin file, does it have to be in the root of the mem stick or can it be in any folder?

EDIT: Ok, I found the 2.0 hello world program, which has a bit more info on the nature of the exploit.. I noticed at the end of the overflow.tif file there was a path (ms0:/h.bin), I tried adding some folders with a hex editor but it just crashed, I'm assuming it *could* load with some encouragement, but was hard-coded to read that specific path.. can anyone point me in the right direction? Could I modify the frame_buffer.png file to load the extra part of the modified overflow.tif?
Fanjita

Post by Fanjita »

Unless you've got a good reason for wanting to develop directly to the TIFF exploit, I'd really recommend just compiling a standard EBOOT and using the loader. It'll be a lot less painful, and your code will run on other firmwares, not just v2.0.