Lua Player version 0.11

Discuss using and improving Lua and the Lua Player specific to the PSP.

Moderators: Shine, Insert_witty_name

Post Reply
Shine
Posts: 728
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 12:10 pm
Location: Germany

Lua Player version 0.11

Post by Shine »

On http://www.luaplayer.org you can get a new version. Changelog:

- Added System.md5sum and filelist.txt debug ouput on startup failure in boot.lua
- changed case sensitivity handling in boot.lua for problems with Windows 98
- now Image.createEmpty accepts 512x512 pixel sizes
- internal image width and height needs not to be the same size
- max image size can be 512x512 now (larger are not allowed with GU blit)
- System.sioInit, sioWrite and sioRead implemented for serial port support
(see http://www.luaplayer.org/sio/readme.html and http://nil.rpc1.org/psp/remote.html
for information about the hardware interface)
- new Timer class and System.sleep function
- fixed timezone bug
- moved Starfield and SIO Echo example to Applications
Last edited by Shine on Thu Oct 27, 2005 9:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
Sprak
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 7:26 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Post by Sprak »

Oooh, can't wait to start fooling around with the serial port! Great update, guys!
Gary13579
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 7:43 am

Post by Gary13579 »

Awesome new release :)

Any chance of releasing a simple how-to for using the PSP remote that came with it?

I think this may be cool for some tetris like games :)
Wraggster
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 7:40 am
Contact:

Post by Wraggster »

without a shadow of a doubt this has to be the killer release of the year.

you must be extremely proud Shine :)

/me hopes for a Dreamcast port one day
Webmaster of http://www.dcemu.co.uk

DCEMU The Worlds Only Homebrew & Gaming Network of Sites.
booger
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 11:19 pm
Location: El Segundo CA
Contact:

Post by booger »

Hope this isn't too off topic or anything, but the max image size is 512x512? Dang. I had just finished drawing up a game idea that requred a 960x544 image, which the player scrolled around on (4x the size of the psp screen).

Do I have to scrap my idea? Or is there a way to create an image of that size, but only blit a 480x272 area of the image to screen?
Zenurb
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 8:33 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Zenurb »

booger wrote:Hope this isn't too off topic or anything, but the max image size is 512x512? Dang. I had just finished drawing up a game idea that requred a 960x544 image, which the player scrolled around on (4x the size of the psp screen).

Do I have to scrap my idea? Or is there a way to create an image of that size, but only blit a 480x272 area of the image to screen?
Why not load the map up as tiles?

Even if none of your map could be reproduced as smaller tiles (e.g. 32x32) you could split your map into several 512x512 files.
Proud Dvorak User
US 1.5 PSP (Original)
LuMo
Posts: 410
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 2:45 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Post by LuMo »

i have code on my page which uses 3 500x272px images which are scrolling (you may easily expand the code to add images above/below)
so my width is 1500px, more than you need ;)
loading the images takes some time (gary tested it on psp, i didn't)

greets
"Good artists copy, great artists steal."
Pablo Picasso
go2lumo.com
booger
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 11:19 pm
Location: El Segundo CA
Contact:

Post by booger »

Zenurb wrote:
booger wrote:Hope this isn't too off topic or anything, but the max image size is 512x512? Dang. I had just finished drawing up a game idea that requred a 960x544 image, which the player scrolled around on (4x the size of the psp screen).

Do I have to scrap my idea? Or is there a way to create an image of that size, but only blit a 480x272 area of the image to screen?
Why not load the map up as tiles?

Even if none of your map could be reproduced as smaller tiles (e.g. 32x32) you could split your map into several 512x512 files.
That's an option. It would just be so much more elegant to have the larger image size;) I'm afraid the game might be complex enough without having to stitch images together. Don't want to have it running at any slower fps than necessary. I know an extra 4 lines of code isn't much, but every little bit counts.
LuMo
Posts: 410
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 2:45 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Post by LuMo »

well my code uses 2 blits, which is the minimum for that job ;)
and its running smooth (and just requires an variable for x-positioning)
(and y if you extend it)

note: you may post the extended version here, then i would upload it (give credits for sure!)

greets
"Good artists copy, great artists steal."
Pablo Picasso
go2lumo.com
booger
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 11:19 pm
Location: El Segundo CA
Contact:

Post by booger »

LuMo wrote:well my code uses 2 blits, which is the minimum for that job ;)
and its running smooth (and just requires an variable for x-positioning)
(and y if you extend it)

note: you may post the extended version here, then i would upload it (give credits for sure!)

greets
Thanks for the offer. I have my own webspace that I'll be uploading my stuff to. Of course, I'll post links. I'm just in the begining stages of laying down the script though. I did a couple test programs to get the hang of LUA. Nothing worth posting though, just some simple image blits and so forth.
haust
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 12:37 am
Location: France

Post by haust »

Where can I find a binary version of Lua Player please ??
I don't have the pspsdk installed and don't intend to so I think it would be cool to have a ready-to-use Lua Player.
LuMo
Posts: 410
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 2:45 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Post by LuMo »

haust wrote:Where can I find a binary version of Lua Player please ??
I don't have the pspsdk installed and don't intend to so I think it would be cool to have a ready-to-use Lua Player.
its already compiled, when you do not load the source ;)
"Good artists copy, great artists steal."
Pablo Picasso
go2lumo.com
haust
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 12:37 am
Location: France

Post by haust »

LuMo wrote:its already compiled, when you do not load the source ;)
Err.... I don't understand. What do you mean by "its already compiled" ?? If so, where is the compiled version of Lua Player ??
I thought that a binary version of Lua Player would be something like an EBOOT.PBP file.
KawaGeo
Posts: 191
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 6:52 am
Location: Calif Mountains

Post by KawaGeo »

Read the first post in this thread. There you'll be able to locate the binaries.
Geo Massar
Retired Engineer
haust
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 12:37 am
Location: France

Post by haust »

Ok found it.
Thanks to LuMo and KawaGeo.
Post Reply