Little help with augmented reality

Discuss the development of new homebrew software, tools and libraries.

Moderators: cheriff, TyRaNiD

SpaceMonkey

Little help with augmented reality

Post by SpaceMonkey »

I'm trying to experiment a bit with augmented reality. I got my USB cam working. The next step is to 'read' which is shown on the screen.

So:
Can anyone help me with getting the color of a pixel shown on the screen?
Sould be pretty simple, like:
color = getPixelColor( x, y);

I have some experience with 3d programming, but not so much with the PSP (which explains my noob question..)

Please help,
thanx
Vincent_M

Post by Vincent_M »

This is sa good question, and you would have to get a bit creative to get it. I can only think of an expensive way of does this right now. Well maybe, I'm thinking this up as I go. What you would want to do is have a pointer point to the current display buffer. That will be the final image being currently drawn to the screen. You would then want to use pointer arithmatic here. If think that your pointer will point to the first pixel in your display buffer. Now, keep in mind that your display buffer's image dimensions are 512x272. The size of the framebuffer is 512 * 272 * (bitsPerPixel / 8). So if your framebuffer is 32-bit, it would be 512 * 272 * 4 which is: 557056 bytes. The "x" in your getPixelColor() function will probably range from 0 - 479 and the "y" will range from 0 - 271. Zero will be the first pixel. Now, we need to look at the pixels on the screen as a single-dimension array since the frambuffer is stored linearly in memory. Then, you would multiply that be the number of bytes each pixel takes up in memory which is the bitsPerPixel / 8.

Here is how to get to that pixel's address in a 32-bit framebuffer:

Code: Select all

pixelAddrRel = ( (y * 512) + x) * 4;