PSPWare for Windows is now available!

Discuss the development of new homebrew software, tools and libraries.

Moderators: cheriff, TyRaNiD

zigzag

PSPWare for Windows is now available!

Post by zigzag »

Just a heads up that PSPWare for Windows is now available from:

http://nullriver.com/index/products/pspware.win

Enjoy!
Drakonite
Site Admin

Post by Drakonite »

So... it's a commercial program that does the same thing a lot of freeware software does? I don't see how someone could be so excited about this.
Shoot Pixels Not People!
Makeshift Development
AeroLeviathan

Post by AeroLeviathan »

Because it does its job very nicely. It has a level of polish not too common in the Windows world these days (probably because it was originally a Mac app). I'd even go so far as to call it elegant.

As a novice programmer, I kind of appreciate seeing something that was just implemented so well, unlike the tangled mess that so many of the freeware alternatives are.

I guess RMS wouldn't approve, but just because it has a small price tag doesn't mean it's evil. If it's not for you, so be it. But it's very nice. That's why people are talking about it.
~ Aero
ooPo
Site Admin

Post by ooPo »

As an experienced coder, I find charging people cash for simple tasks with a pretty interface is tacky. It is also disrespectful to those who originally figured out how to do those simple tasks.

Shareware like this is mostly dead on platforms other than the Mac. Even there it is slowly dying. You're going to have to offer something really grand if you want to sell it, and even then you only have a limited time until someone codes up a clone.

I wonder what will happen to small companies like this when the transition to x86 is complete.
glitchbit

Post by glitchbit »