Pukklink, inlink adaptor newbie questions.

Discuss the development of software, tools, libraries and anything else that helps make ps2dev happen.

Moderators: cheriff, Herben

Ultrarodimus

Pukklink, inlink adaptor newbie questions.

Post by Ultrarodimus »

Ok, I am new to this, but I want to develop games for the PS2 and test them and see if they work or not.

1) What do I need to buy? The network adaptor for the ps2? Sharkport? Nport? Do I also need a ethernet cord or usb port?

2)What software do I need?

3) Where do I buy and get these things from?

4) How do all these things work together?

5) Do I have to burn pukklink to CD? If yes, do I need a modified PS 2? Hope not.

6) Can you give me a step by step setup?

I searched the forums for this, but I couldn't find an answer.

Thanks.

UR
Drakonite
Site Admin

Post by Drakonite »

1)
a) There are two routes, over the network or over a USB cable. Network is recommened and for that you will need a PS2 network adapter and a way to network your PS2 with your computer (either through your home network/router or a crossover cable directly connected to your PC)
If you chose to go the USB route, you need a USB neworking cable that is based off of the Prolific PL2301 chip. You'll have to read the specs on the back of the box to see if a cable uses the PL2301 chip or not.
b) You need some way to boot, which means either a modchip or the ps2-independence exploit. If using the PS2-ind exploit you need some way of putting a custom save onto a memory card, which means either a friend with a modded PS2, or some commercial device such as the Sharkport/Xport.

2)
You need the PS2 GCC toolchain as well as PS2SDK and very possibly a seperate gfx library (such as gslib, gskit, or libito). You also need software for sending programs to your PS2 via the methods described in 1).